Why I’m slim

I once asked a friend whether she thought I was slim and healthy because of what I ate or in spite of it. Having seen what I ate, she confessed that she thought it was the latter. She believed I was ‘naturally slim’, ‘just lucky’ and ‘got away with’ eating what she saw as lots of fattening food.

Is it true that I’m ‘just lucky’ and can eat anything? No. I can state this confidently because there have been two times in my life when I ate differently and became overweight, and I did more exercise then than now. (I’ll tell you soon what caused my weight gain.) When I changed to the way I eat now, my excess weight melted away. So I know for sure that I am in my current good shape because of my diet.

Jackie KO 02How did my friend come to have the beliefs in food that caused her to consider my food, which keeps me slim, to be fattening and her food, which keeps her fat, to be slimming?

There’s a lot of confusing information and marketing about foods which influences what we buy and how we eat. It can be hard to make sense of it all. I notice with bemusement that when it comes to slimming, overweight people often consult each other. They ignore anyone who’s slim, thinking that what they eat is irrelevant because they must just be lucky. If I wanted to take up tennis, would I go for lessons with someone who has never learned how to play? No, I’d go to someone who looked as if they knew what they were doing.

Often people turn to the diet industry, but remember that they make their money out of people who are overweight, not people who are slim. Think carefully about your information sources especially when someone wants to sell something to you. Learn the truth and eat in a way that keeps you slim and healthy.

Top tip – it’s diet, not luck that determines your weight.

 

