Cut Price Food

Cut price food

It’s always worth keeping an eye on fresh produce that’s being sold off.  The other day I spotted big lettuces on sale for 25p.  I immediately thought of my Mum’s lettuce soup recipe – here it is:

Pic by Wendy Selina

Ingredients

  • 12oz roughly chopped lettuce
  • 2oz butter
  • 1/4 pint milk
  • 4oz spring onions, chopped
  • 1 tblsp flour
  • 1pt chicken stock
  • salt and pepper

Method

Put the butter in the pan with the lettuce and spring onions.  Cook until soft.  Add the flour, then the stock.  Bring to the boil.  Simmer for 20 minutes.  Cool a bit.  Blend.  Add milk.

I bought one of the lettuces which weighed nearly 2lb, plus a bunch of spring onions, and made a big pan of lovely soup which I froze in portions.   I often eat soup and cheese for my lunch (no bread).  There was still lots of lettuce left for us to have in salads that week so nothing was wasted.

Getting so many meals for so little reminded me of a student I know in Leeds.  He goes to the market, buys whatever they’re selling off and makes soup.  His mates spend a fortune on processed rubbish but he’s getting good, fresh, real food at a monthly price of <£30!

Read more about saving money – this is a joint blog post with my Survival Guide for the Skint blogsite.

One thought on “Cut Price Food

  1. Pingback: Cut price food | Survivalguidefortheskint's Blog

Comments are closed.